Skip to content

RapidCMI5

Desktop authoring tool that outputs cmi5 packages, aimed at TLA programmes

Active Last commit Checked · 24 Aug 2026

The facts

Licence
AGPL-3.0
Deployment
Desktop application
Platforms
Windows · Linux
Vendor
By Light Professional IT Services
Headquarters
United States

Standards support

Every line says where the claim came from. We do not test conformance ourselves and we issue no badge of our own.

Standards support for RapidCMI5, with the source of each claim and the date it was last confirmed.
Standard Supported Provenance Checked Note
SCORM 1.2 Not stated
SCORM 2004 Not stated
xAPI Yes editor-checked · 24 Aug 2026— source, opens in a new tabStatements are sent through @xapi/cmi5 1.4 on top of @xapi/xapi 3.0.2. xAPI here is the cmi5 transport, not a general-purpose LRS integration you configure yourself.
cmi5 Yes editor-checked · 24 Aug 2026— source, opens in a new tabThe monorepo generates a cmi5.xml course structure with AU definitions, and ships a matching player and a container-based builder for CI.
AICC Not stated
LTI Not stated
Claimed
— the vendor states it. We have not confirmed it.
Checked
— an editor confirmed it on the date shown.
Verified
— an official registry lists it, and we link to the entry.

Editor's notes

RapidCMI5 is an open-source desktop authoring tool for cmi5 content, published by By Light and written for the US Department of Defense's Total Learning Architecture. It began as a player for MkDocs-derived markdown and grew into an Nx monorepo containing three pieces: the Electron authoring application, the web player that renders the authored course, and a headless builder intended to package content inside a CI pipeline.

The pitch is a code-adjacent workflow. Course source is files you can put under version control and diff, while the visual editor keeps it approachable — a middle position between hand-writing cmi5 and using a closed WYSIWYG suite. The packaging chores that people most often get wrong, cmi5.xml structure and session handling, are done for you.

Two constraints matter. It is cmi5 only, so it is no help to anyone with a SCORM-bound LMS. And it is early: version 0.19.0 as of August 2026, first commit in November 2025, eleven stars, releases roughly monthly. Nothing suggests neglect — the release cadence is brisk and the test setup includes Moodle end-to-end runs — but there is no track record yet, and the roadmap is set by one contractor's programme needs.

Prebuilt Windows installers and a Linux AppImage are published, so evaluating it costs an afternoon rather than a build environment.

Listed on scorm-tools.com

Maintainers and vendors are welcome to show the listing badge in a README or on a product page. It is free, it does not require a claim, and there is nothing to buy.

Get the embed code